Pushing my limits

IMG_1467

It’s already been over a years since I was backpacking in Asia and it has become a huge part of me since then. There is so much I could tell, but now I just wanna tell a little bit about how it was to travel alone at the beginning of my trip. 

In october 2013 I was at a point in life I didn’t know what to do, I was tired of working and wasn’t ready to start at a university yet. I felt like I needed do to something new and exiting. I decided to call a friend of mine who I know is very spontaneous and we found out that the smartest we could to do was to travel. We had been in Thailand earlier that year and felt that it would be the perfect place to go.

Traveling across the world with no return-ticket was actually kind of thrilling, it made me feel free. We decided to stay together for around 2-3 weeks before traveling on our own. When it came to the point that we actually left each other I honestly felt terrified. I’ve never felt so alone, but yet so free. For me it was a really strange feeling, and I’m not sure if I liked it or not. She left to meet her mother in Bangkok so they could stay in a temple, while I stayed behind at Koh Phangang. I knew that I needed to leave the country soon and started to get really stressed, I felt that I needed to find a group or at least a person I could do some traveling with. After a couple of days I met three dutch guys who said that I could happily join them to Koh Phiphi. I still had around 7 days left on my visa so I joined them. We had a good time on the Island, but then it was about time to plan my next destination. I decided to take a flight to Singapore and stay there for a short week then fly to Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam.

IMG_1599

IMG_1490

I didn’t really know anything about Singapore when I got there, except from having a lot of international business. I stayed there for five days and was alone most of the time. I took the underground to big shopping malls and visited the famous Marina bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore was a really surrealistic country to me, everything was so big. There was plenty of sky scrapers, spectacular buildings, huge christmas decorations and you could see straight away that it is a rich country. Being alone in Singapore was actually a lot of fun. At first I thought it wouldn’t be, but as soon as I started looking around I felt like I didn’t have enough time in the country. When it comes to being alone, it was surprisingly easy. I think after spending a month with someone around everyday all the time I needed to have some time alone as well. So, all in all, Singapore was a great experience.

IMG_1619

IMG_1748

Haoi was a different cup of tea, not as developed as Singapore and very chaotic. Suddenly I felt alone again, and forgot all about how good it was to be alone in Singapore. I think for me, all the chaos stressed me out and I was also staying in a hostel filled with backpackers I didn’t know how to approach. Even though I traveled alone, it doesn’t mean that I wanted to be alone all the time, so I had to get to know some people.

When I came to the hostel I went to the dorm with all my stuff, then rushed to the bar and got a beer. I sat down by a table and felt really alone because I didn’t know how to start talking to anyone. I’m used to the Norwegian way, and here you don’t talk to or just sit down with people you don’t know. After a while I started to talk with a few people from my dorm and joined their table. We drank beer and got to know people from all kinds of countries. For me that was a turning point, after that night I never had trouble on my trip with talking and getting to know people.

IMG_2578

Isn’t it funny, how you can feel so scared of something that isn’t dangerous at all? This journey was life changing in so many ways, not just in the sense of getting to know the world better, but I also learned to push my own limits in a good way. Now I’m a more social person who loves to get to know new people.

Have any of you guys traveled alone or have something you wanna share from you’r own travel experiences? If so, I would love to hear more about it!

Pushing my limits

26 thoughts on “Pushing my limits

    1. I think for most people traveling alone the first time is always scary, but I think you would love it if you decided to take a trip on you’r own someday. It’s a great feeling to not be committed to anything or anyone for a little while 🙂

  1. Great post, you’re really brave especially being a girl travelling alone! And you’re so lucky to have gone to Koh Phangang, that’s actually my dream destination 🙂 x

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It is? I stayed there for three weeks and loved it there, besides all the partying. You could also go to other places on the island where it was all quite and beautiful. Hopefully you get to go there soon 😀

  2. This is amazing… this is what I want to do… I plan to travel by myself but I plan to travel to places where I want to meet some people. I’m very social but I’m sure it will still be scary just because it’s different places with different languages but I want that experience 🙂

    Thank you for dropping by my blog and commenting ♡ xox

    1. That’s great! Have you planned where you wanna go? 🙂 There will always places to meet people when you’r traveling alone because there is a lot of people doing the same thing. It might be scary, but most of all it would be an amazing experience. The places I remembered the most is those with the biggest cultural differences, where they spoke another language and lived a very different life style then us 🙂

  3. What an amazing experience to travel on your own. I can imagine it has increased your confidence in many areas of your life. i wish you many more travels in your years ahead!

  4. You certainly did what psychologists say is the only real way to conquer your fears. Throw yourself into what ever situation it is that scares you. You still may not like having to be alone but you can deal with it better.

    Well done! You’re a champion!

    I’m willing to travel alone except that I fear my wife would never forgive me for doing so. I’m not about to throw myself into that! 🙂

  5. IDK your age, but I regret not following my traveling dreams when I was younger. I was 17 & planned to travel Europe after graduation-before college-and life had other plans.
    Last April I went to Puerto Rico, St.Maarten,St.Thomas, and Dominican Republic.
    I felt so alive and free. I normally suffer terrible anxiety attacks but these beautiful places cleared my soul.
    I was sad in the DR. A truly truly poor country. So many homeless dogs & animals everywhere. Made me so very sad and i felt helpless.
    The kids were begging us for change at every stop. Some were quite aggressive too.
    It did me good to see the good and the ugly of each place we stopped at.
    Ive seen “lean” times financially and had empty cabinets but those times were truly short lived.
    Gratitude is what I think of. We do have it good here in the USA. So many take it for granted.
    Once you travel a bit you gain a new perspective on life and how others live.
    Sorry for the long post. I enjoyed your posting and images.
    A shame you don’t update more frequently.

    1. Thank you so much for sharing this! So envious of your trip to Puerto Rico, St.Maarten, St.Thomas and Dominican Republic. I hope that I get the opportunity to go there myself one day too.
      I’m so sorry to hear that you have been suffering from anxiety attacks, but I’m glad that you didn’t get any during your travel and hope that you haven’t had any after coming home either.
      I know exactly what you mean, it was the same in Asia. I got really sad myself, especially when it came to the animals and children. Sometimes I felt the need to cry because I didn’t know how to help, but it is like you say, good for us to see both the bad and good things. It gives you a real eye opener and you get a new perspective on life and also start to appreciate things around you more.
      I’m glad to hear that. I working a lot so I don’t have much time to write anything at the moment, but in two weeks I’m going to Florida and then I will try to update my blog daily.

      Thank you so much for reading.

  6. Actually Singapore was my first solo travel destination-long time ago. Well I came for work related but I spent extra days just to travel around. It was a safe city and love the experience! Your post reminds me of the experience 😊😊

Leave a Reply

