Taking nature for granted

IMG_2747

I was raised in Stavanger, a city on the west coast of Norway. The city itself isn’t that special, but not far away a scenery like in the photo above isn’t rare.

Stavanger-24

Growing up in Stavanger made it easy for me to take nature for granted. It wasn’t that I didn’t care about nature or anything, I was just to busy with my lifestyle in the city. I also lived with my mother who wasn’t a big fan of going for hikes or anything so it wasn’t like anybody pushed me out the door.

After high school I spent a year in the Navy, and it wasn’t until then I started realizing how important the beauty of nature was to me. We sailed along the coast of Norway from down south till all the way up in the north, and the scenery was breathtaking. I honestly hadn’t thought much about nature in my country before this trip, but when I got home from the Navy I straight away felt the urge to explore more. I already knew that just a short drive away from Stavanger there was many places to go see, fjords, waterfalls, mountains and beaches. It didn’t take long before I started to go for hikes outside of the city and it made me feel great. I love how you can get away from all the chaos in the city to somewhere quiet and peaceful.

Looking back now, just staying in the city and totally forgetting about the nature surrounding us is something I don’t wanna go back to. I have to say, though, I still think it is at times hard to remember to enjoy nature because of this super busy urban lifestyle we live in.

It is important that we do appreciate what is out there and don’t forget that we are a part of nature, and not apart from it. 

009 2

Just by seeing a picture of simple nature, I get hit by a sudden urge to run through the monitor in that place and run around, laugh, live, and breathe, as if that place is calling me…

008 1 (2)

Taking nature for granted

23 thoughts on “Taking nature for granted

  1. Norway is on my bucket list. My friend Niall is from there & when my friend, his girlfriend, went there with him she fell in love with it. Till this day she says it was unbelievable.
    I was on the beach a lot as a kid. It wasn’t the ocean (I am in Connecticut) but it was great. I didn’t realize how much I loved the water until I was away for a long time.
    Beautiful images.

    1. You should definitely come visit Norway! Oh, really? I’m not surprised tough, even tough I live here I still get amazed by nature. I never seem to never get used to how beautiful it is, and often get surprised when I go for new hikes!
      I understand exactly what you mean, sometime you need to get away for a little while to start realizing how much you love what is right in front of you!
      Thank you very much.

  2. My best friend was born in Norway (lived her whole life in Belgium/The Netherlands) but I know its a stunning place and these photos make me wanna visit like yesterday. And I agree with the title of this post. We take nature far too often for granted. I realized that when I drove down the Californian coast. I saw some places so pretty it didn’t look real and completely photoshopped.

    xx naomi – Naomi in Wonderland

    1. Really? Maybe you and her should take a trip to Norway together, I think you would like Norway 🙂
      I know, it’s easy to forget the simplicity of nature when you are used to living in a materialistic world. Sounds like you had an real eye opener during you’r drive! It is amazing when you open you’r eyes and realize hope pretty it actually is!

    1. You should definitely come visit one day if you have the chance 🙂

      Thank you so much for the nomination, I don’t have much time to start the challenge today, but gonna put up a post tomorrow 😀 Hopefully I find some photos and stories to share!

      1. I would love to visit whenever I get this chance in life. And there is no timeline to start the challenge so you can do at your will 🙂

  3. Amazing! We’ve visited most of the Scandinavian countries, EXCEPT for Norway! We recently visited Iceland and Denmark this past Fall. But we live in Canada so we have a lot of nature around us as well. A good reminder to take a moment to appreciate it!

    1. Really? You guys should come visit Norway too. And btw what did you think about Iceland and Denmark? I have never been to Iceland before, but would really love to go there soon.
      Where in Canada are you from? I also wanna go there. So much beautiful nature! 🙂

      1. Oh yes, we definitely plan to visit Norway in the future, we just could not fit all of the places we wanted to visit in one trip. A couple of years ago we visited Finland and Sweden on a separate trip – Norway just always seemed to get left out unfortunately. I promise we’ll come visit your beautiful country soon!

        Iceland is a fascinating country – very unspoiled natural beauty but at the same time very modern and youthful. We loved the Geysirs and the hot springs. The food was also very memorable. I recommend a visit for sure.

        I live in the city of Toronto so it’s very metropolitan but within the province of Ontario there are a lot of parks – I used to camp north of the city in the famous Algonquin Park.

  4. Hi I happened to stop by on your Blog because u came & Visited my blog with my post; About a wax that mostly from what I am learning Cross dressers use to make there eye brows look more like how a woman’s brow looks & you made a comment in regards of how….u can use it too….May I just say: from looking at u on your blog…believe me….you are such a very, very, young pretty woman & u defiantly do ( N O T ) need any of that wax,,,,, u have such beautiful looking features as a woman…so…all u have to do to re- assure of pretty u are is to look in the mirror…& just take-it from me…..that your a beautiful woman….& also speaking of BEAUTY: these pictures are beautiful too…its (always) so nice to look at……my-beliefs of what ( *GOD )-Made !!!!!! it can bring us in a place to….REMEMBER to take a moment…..& take-it…all-in,,,, so to speak so much more I can chat about how GOD,,,, makes HIMSELF available in all the works HE has created !!!! w0w,, guess u would maybe ? never thought u would here this from the likes of my-type ha ? lol….I guess u can say….I am kind of going through something in my life as of (now) that im still trying to figure-out ? lol lol who knew ?? lol thanks for visiting my blog,,,, be *Blessed stay well 🙂

  5. Nice to find someone who thinks in the same way, and those photos are wonderful. I was always saving the Norway fjords cruise for my old age, when I could only look, but not walk too far. I guess those days are approaching 🙂

  6. I love your blog!! 🙂 ❤ We have many things in common 🙂 I am also from Stavanger, but I live in India now. I have travelled a lot, and a lot of it has been alone. I liked the post about Singapore, I have been to Singapore several times, my brother lives there, so I go visit him at least once a year 🙂 I love your photography! Now I miss Norway! 🙂 Oh, and I am writing in English so that others can understand too 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

